Center for Biomedical
Imaging Statistics

What do we do?

Learn more >


Publications >


  • Scott Liang and Yujie Zhao have been admitted into PhD programs starting in Fall 2018. Scott will join the PhD program in Statistics at Rice University. Yujie Zhao will join the PhD Program at The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center UTHealth Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.

  • Congratulations to Dr. Ying Guo for being selected as a Fellow of the American Statistical Association.

  • Congratulations to Zae Higgins who has been selected to participate in the Building Future Faculty program at North Carolina State University.

  • Congratulations to Yikai Wang who was named as the first place winner of the ASA Statistics in Imaging Section 2018 Student Paper Competition. 

  • Congratulations to Yikai Wang whose paper "A novel hierarchical independent component modeling framework with application to longitudinal fMRI studies" has been selected as one of the winners of 2018 ENAR Distinguished Student Paper Awards. 

  • Dr. Suprateek Kundu was invited to give a presentation on "Introduction to Graphical Models and Application to Brain Networks" for the ASA GA Chapter webinar series. 

  • Dr. Ben Risk was invited to give an oral presentation on "Impacts of multiband acceleration factors on sensitivity and specificity" at OHBM 2017 conference. 

  • Zae Higgins was one of the recipients of the Student Paper Award of ASA Statistics in Imaging Section Annual Conference in 2017.

  • Yikai Wang was one of the winners of the GA Chapter Student Poster Competition that was held during the 5th Workshop on Biostatistics and Bioinformatics at Georgia State University in May 2017.

  • Zae Higgins has been selected as one of the student paper winners of the Annual Conference for Statistical Methods in Imaging that is co-sponsored by ASA Section on Statistics in Imaging and University of Pittsburgh in June 2017.

  • Subhadip Pal joins the Department of Bioinformatics and Biostatistics at the University of Louisville as a tenure-track assistant professor in January, 2017.

  • Ying Guo and Phebe Kemmer taught the short course “ Statistical Methods for Brain Network Analysis Using Multimodal Imaging Data” at International Biometrics Society (ENAR) conference held at Washington DC in March 2017.

  • Zae Higgins receives a diversity supplement award (PI: Ying Guo) from National Institute of Mental Health for training and research in statistical methods for multimodality imaging data, June, 2016.

  • Kemmer PB successfully defended her dissertation in July, 2016 and joined the Neuroscience Division of Ely Lilly and Company as Research Scientist.

  • Ying Guo received Honorable Mention in 2016 Teaching Award of Department of Biostatistics and Bioinformatics at Emory for teaching the course of “Advanced Topics in Neuroimaging Statistics”.

  • Junhan Fan is admitted to the PhD program in Biostatistics at the University of Waterloo in September, 2016.

  • Jin Ming is admitted to the PhD program of the Department Biostatistics and Bioinformatics at Emory University in September, 2016.

  • Zae Higgins has been appointed as an Emory University ORDER Scholar for the 2016/2017 academic year.

  • New publication inn Frontier's of Neuroscience: Wang Y, Kang J, Kemmer PB and Guo Y (2016) An Efficient and Reliable Statistical Method for Estimating Functional Connectivity in Large Scale Brain Networks Using Partial Correlation. more...

  • Ran Shi successfully defended his dissertation on 3/30/2016

  • Ran Shi received 2016 ENAR distinguished student paper award.

  • Tian Dai successfully defended her dissertation in Feb 2016.

  • Tian Dai's paper “Predictability of Brain Functional Connectivity in Resting-state fMRI Data Using a Bayesian Hierarchical Model” was selected as one of two runner-up prize winners of ASA Statistics in Imaging Section Student Paper Competition for JSM 2016.

  • Phebe Kemmer was Student Paper Competition Winner of the 2015 ‘Statistical Methods in Imaging Workshop’ co-sponsored by ASA Statistics in Imaging Section and University of Michigan.

  • Phebe Kemmer won the Clint Miller Best Poster Award and Boyd Harsbarger Travel Award of 2015 Southern Regional Council on Statistics (SRCoS) Summer Research Conference.

  • Phebe Kemmer won the Best Emory Student Poster Award of 2015 Georgia Statistics Day.

  • Josh Lukemire, Honorable mention in the Student Poster competition at the 2015 Georgia Statistics Day.

  • Ran Shi's paper "Modeling Covariate Effects in Group Independent Component Analysis With Applications to Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging " was selected as one of the two top-place winners of Student Paper Award by Section on Imaging Statistics of ASA 2015 (declined)

  • Ran Shi's paper won student paper award by section on Baysian Statistics of ASA 2015

  • Yikai Wang, nominated for the Shepard Award for Master thesis in RSPH. 2015

  • Zae Higgins, Honorable Mention of Ford Foundation Fellowship 2015

  • Ying Guo was elected as 2015 Program Chair-Elect of Section on Imaging Statistics of ASA

  • Phebe Kemmer was the 2014 winner of Michael H. Kutner Distinguished Doctoral Student Award in our department

  • Dr. Ying Guo and Jian Kang received an R01 award from NIMH for the project" Statistical ICA Methods for Analysis and Integration of Multi-dimensional Data"